Click the link below for this specific internet radio music stream available only on Saturdays. Join us every Saturday 7PM to 10PM East Coast Time / 4PM to 7PM West Coast Time as we let our hair hang down in
  • The Time Machine Radio Chat Room
  • . Live every Saturday.

    Nushu's Lisa Mychols and Tom Richards from The Waking Hours welcome you to The Time Machine

    Saturday, May 11, 2013

    The Time Machine's Listening Party - Drink A Toast To Innocence: A Tribute To Lite Rock

    The Time Machine Crew had a blast since late summer of 2012 discussing with Monster of Lite Rock's Andrew Curry about the upcoming album "Drink A Toast To Innocence: A Tribute To Lite Rock". As the songs were recorded by the long list of incredibly talented musical artists, each completed song got debuted on the radio for the Maui radio audience as well as world wide online listeners. Many of the artists had a chance to share their thoughts about this ambitious album project paying homage to those great songs of the late seventies and early eighties. The songs were so well written that despite their incredible arrangements and how they were produced to an excellence that Top 40 music today on the radio rarely aspires to, it's a theme that deserved to have today's artists pay tribute to. Many of the songs were tunes that the artists featured on this album were exposed to as kids by musical acts that cranked out hit after hit like the Little River Band, England Dan & John Ford Coley, Firefall, Ambrosia, Player, Leo Sayer, Andrew Gold, Stephen Bishop, Atlanta Rhythm Section, Orleans, and Cliff Richard while others were artists that had success with a hit single or two like Robbie Dupree, Rupert Holmes, Henry Gross, Ian Matthews, Walter Egan, Climax Blues Band, Poco, Michael Johnson, David Soul and Randy Vanwarmer.

    Fast forward to late spring of 2013 and it's time now to celebrate the album release on compact disc, vinyl and digital downloads. This radio special embraces the old fashioned record listening party. Joining in the musical festivities, as every song on the album was featured on the broadcast with Andrew Curry and radio host Michael McCartney, include musical guests; Eric Kern from the band Vegas With Randolph (The Little River Band's "Cool Change"), Cliff Hillis ("Shake It" by Ian Matthews), Seth Swirsky ("Shannon" by Henry Gross), Linus Of Hollywood (Leo Sayer's "More Than I Can Say"), Andrea Kremer from Sunshine On Mars ("Fooled Around And Fell In Love" by Elvin Bishop featuring Mickey Thomas), Lisa Mychols (David Soul's "Don't Give Up On Us"), Mike Ruekberg ("Believe It Or Not" by Joey Scarbury which was the theme from "The Greatest American Hero"), Mike Viola (Robbie Dupree's "Steal Away"), Brandon Schott (Andrew Gold's "Thank You For Being A Friend"), Scott Klass of The Davenports (Randy Vanwarmer's "Just When I Needed You Most"), Eytan Mirsky ("Escape [The PiƱa Colada Song]" from Rupert Holmes), David Myhr ("The Things We Do For Love" from 10cc), Kelly Jones (England Dan & John Ford Coley's "I'd Really Love To See You Tonight"), Bleu (Player's "Baby Come Back"), Andy Reed of An American Underdog (Jay Ferguson's "Thunder Island"), Michael Carpenter (Cliff Richard's "We Don't Talk Anymore"), Kyle Vincent (Ambrosia's "How Much I Feel") and Michael Simmons from Popdudes (Walter Egan's "Magnet and Steel"). The editor and producer of the video campaign for the album, Todd Stanton, also joins in the fun along with the album's co-producer Elizabeth Racz. The Time Machine's producers Jenny Leong and Summer Blue,, along with the assistance of Dave Stephens, kept the music flowing with brand new covers featured on this Maui afternoon FM broadcast from Lannie Flowers ("Dance With Me" by Orleans), Wyatt Funderburk (Michael Johnson's "Bluer Than Blue"), Michael Carpenter (Cliff Richard's "We Don't Talk Anymore"), Willie Wisely (Atlanta Rhythm Section's "So Into You"), Paul Bertolino (Firefall's "Just Remember I Love You"), Mike Collins with Paul Bond & Jimi Evans from Throwback Suburbia (Climax Blues Band's "I Love You"), Paul Myers ("Wildfire" from Michael Martin Murphey), The Sonic Executive Sessions (Stephen Bishop's "On And On"), Plasticsoul (Bob Welch's "Sentimental Lady" as well as his former band Fleetwood Mac), Joe Giddings ("Undercover Angel" from Alan O'Day), Greg Pope (Poco's "Crazy Love") and the show closed out with the late Dan Fogelberg's "Same Old Lang Syne" where the lyrics of that classic song inspired the tribute album's title.

    The Time Machine

    Special shout out to The Smith Bros., Tony Macaulay, Eric Stewart, Graham Gouldman and Parker McGee. This radio special from The Time Machine was done with love and dedicated to Andrew Gold, Randy Vanwarmer and Alan O'Day.

    Click here to listen or download the radio aircheck interview of The Time Machine's Listening Party for "Drink A Toast To Innocence: A Tribute To Light Rock" Radio Special

    Below: Official music video for "We Don't Talk Anymore" by Michael Carpenter

    Below: Official music video for "The Things We Do For Love" by David Myhr

    Below: Official music video for "Thank You For Being A Friend" by Brandon Schott

    Below: Official music video for "Just Remember I Love You" by Paul Bertolino

    Below: Official music video for "Magnet And Steel" by Popdude

    Below: Official music video for "Fooled Around And Fell In Love" by Sunshine On Mars

    Below: Official Extended Promotional Film for "Drink A Toast To Innocence: A Tribute To Light Rock"

    Below: Official Promotional Video for "Drink A Toast To Innocence: A Tribute To Light Rock"

    Official Website for "Drink A Toast To Innocence: A Tribute To Lite Rock" at Monsters Of Lite Rock

    Official Bandcamp Website for "Drink A Toast To Innocence: A Tribute To Light Rock"

    "Drink A Toast To Innocence: A Tribute To Lite Rock" on Facebook

    Official Website for Wyatt Funderburk

    Official Website for Lannie Flowers

    Official Website for Michael Carpenter

    Official Website for Bleu

    Official Website for The Davenports

    Official Website for Brandon Schott

    Official Website for Kyle Vincent

    Official Website for The Sonic Executive Sessions

    Official Website for Linus Of Hollywood

    Official Website for Lisa Mychols

    Official Website for Greg Pope

    Official Website for Mike Viola

    Official Website for Throwback Suburbia

    Official Website for David Myhr

    Official Website for Mike Ruekberg

    Official Website for Kelly Jones

    Official Website for Vegas With Randolph

    Official Website for Paul Bertolino

    Official Website for Seth Swirsky

    Official Website for Cliff Hillis

    Official Website for Eytan Mirsky

    Official Website for Plasticsoul

    Official Website for Paul Myers

    Official Website for Willie Wisely

    Official Website for Joe Giddings

    Official Website for Popdudes

    Official Website for Sunshine On Mars

    Official Website for An American Underdog


    Post a Comment

    << Home